Mugen MRX 5

Robert Pietsch MRX 5

Robert Pietsch is European Champion

Driving the new Mugen MRX-5, a car he was responsible for designing, Robert Pietsch has finally claimed his first big title winning the EFRA 1:8 Onroad European Championship at Locorotondo in Italy today.
Starting from pole position the German led the 45-minute final from start to finish.
The only driver to follow him closely was Motonica’s Dario Balestri who finished half a lap behind the 2008 World Championship Top Qualifier.
The majority of the drivers were on a 3.5 minute fuel stop strategy with one tire change at the race’s mid point.
Only Alberto Picco was pitting longer running just over 4 minutes but his chances of victory ended when half way through a glowplug let go costing the Italian a lot of time.
Current World Champion Lamberto Collari had to settle for third on the podium after he was forced to do an extra pit stop due to a damaged tyre on his Kyosho.
Apart from Pietsch and Balestri, all the drivers were forced to make unscheduled pitstops as they hit problems.
final results:
Pos. Driver laps time car / engine
1. Robert Pietsch (D) 167 45.14.746 Mugen/NR
2. Dario Balestri (I) 166 45.09.394 Motonica/NR
3. Lamberto Collari (I) 163 45.11.659 Kyosho/NR
4. Oliver Mack (D) 161 45.05.579 Shepherd/NR
5. Andrea Cristiani (I) 159 45.12.022 Serpent/Max
6. Michael Salven (D) 154 45.00.435 Serpent/Mega
7. Michele Romagnoli (I) 150 45.03.397 Mugen/NR
8. Alberto Picco (I) 148 45.07.655 Mugen/Picco
9. Andrea Pirani (I) 82 23.04.125 Mugen/NR
10. Ilia van Gastel (B) 62 16.54.111 Serpent/Mega

Archive Pictures by Fabien Mannien